About Frisia The origin of my family in Eastern Frisia during the Middle Ages. Frisia is the coastal region along the southeastern corner of the North Sea, i.e. the German Bight encompassing most of western Holland, north-western Germany and small parts of today's Denmark. Frisia is the traditional homeland of the Frisians, a Germanic people related to the Saxons and Jutes (Danes) who speak Frisian, a language group closely related to the English language. It is thought that the Frisians took an active part in the invasions of England during the 7th and 8th centuries. It may well have been the case that the Frisians being a distinct people and the closest to England, were the main invading force. Frisian artifacts have been unearthed in the English North Sea coastal areas. Unfortunately, history has joined all the coastal tribes as being Anglo-Saxons. During the latter part of the epoch the Karolingian Franks conquered Frisia in 734 AD becoming part of the Frankish empire. Frisia has never recovered and is today part of the Kingdom of the Netherlands and also as part of the State of Lower Saxony in Germany.
The graphics were obtained from the related Wiki pages with thanks.

About a name - Am enw
frisia1 Pdf files are readable by programs such as Adobe Reader or a Linux based program such as Document Viewer. Possibly the latest edition of OpenOffice or LibreOffice will read pdf files also. The following file is about some details on the background of the family name.

"Click here - Hajen family"

Anything Welsh
The following file is about Roman local history on issues pertaining to Wales.

"Click here - Roman local history"

About home - Am gartref

This map shows the route of the 'Elfsteden Tocht" (Eleven Towns Trip) a skating competition through the present province of Friesland (Fryske) in the Netherlands. Skating during the wintertime can be called the national sport of the Frisians. Although the map shows the province in Holland today, the area from which the male side of the family comes from is called Jeverland, from the female side we come from the area known as Westergo.

The Frisian flag - Baner Frisia

The flag of the Dutch province of Friesland (Fryslân) seems to have a rather strange ‘bean-motiv’, but the ‘beans’ are actually water-lily leaves. The flag consists of four blue and three white diagonal stripes; in the white stripes are a total of seven red pompeblêden, (leaves of the yellow water-lily but some say pompoen bladen other mention lotus flowers). The seven red pompeblêden, (as they are called in West Frisian) are a reference to the Frisian "sea countries" of the Middle Ages. These were the independent regions ranging from the Dutch city ‘Alkmaar’ to the German area of the river Weser. Some sources hold, however, that there have been seven Frisian lands: West Friesland, Westergo, Eastergo, Hunsingo, Fivelingo, Emsingo, and Jeverland. These areas mainly comprise the northern coastal lands of the Netherlands and Germany. Frisia lost its independence under King Radboud in around 700AD after which it became a part of the Frankisch empire. See Magna Frisia above.